Groovy Green Livin

When Lori Popkewitz Alpers youngest son started kindergarten, she knew she did not want to return to the office to practice law. Instead, she wanted to be home for her three sons, now ages 13, 11 and 10, before they left for school and when they returned home. “I was a partner at a law firm in Brookline, and I worked with a great group of people,” said Alper. “But the stress was taking a toll after a while, and I knew I needed to make a change.” After making the difficult decision to leave her practice, Alper spent a full year thinking and brainstorming what to do next. “I really enjoyed talking about healthy eating and healthy living, so I educated myself on nontoxic living, and I found many others were interested in the topic as well.” During that time, Alper said the idea of blogging kept coming up, so in 2009 after dedicating time to designing her site, Groovy Green Livin’ launched and she began writing. “I went in with a very open mindset. I wasnt sure where it would take me, but I wanted to see what would happen.” She soon found that she was able to combine her legal background and her writing to give her a new-found voice in green living, whether it was in negotiating contracts or advocating. “My true passion became advocating for nontoxic products for children and consumers.

Leave a Reply

